NESSA is one of seven regional districts in the Interscholastic Sailing Association (ISSA)

Upcoming Events

Date Event NOR
4/22-24 Sailing the Collegiate Dinghies NOR
4/26 CT States NOR
4/27 NESSA Fleet Racing Championship (O’Day Trophy) NOR
5/3 Yachtsmen Regatta NOR
5/4 Sailmaine Team Race NOR

Recent Events

Date Event Results
4/13 Herreshoff Qualifer - Duxbury HS Res
4/13 Bulldog Classic
4/12 2nd 2014 Greenwich 8x Team Race Regattas
4/12 The Great Caper Race
4/6 Herreshoff Qualifier - Tabor Academy Res
4/5 2014 Greenwich 8x Team Race Regattas


North Kingstown bested eight other schools to win the second of three qualifiers for the New England Women's Championship (Rebecca Herreshoff Trophy)

Tabor Academy edged out St. George's to win the first qualifier for the NESSA Women's Championship (Rebecca Herreshoff Trophy)

As referenced in ISSA’s Basic Guide for Safety Practices which is posted on the ISSA website under Safety Practices, High School Sailing recommends that all competitors to be safety conscious. It’s important that we follow safety practices during all sailing practices and regattas as injuries can happen. The basic guide provides information that will help all competitors and organizers continue with a positive safety environment for our sport.

After attending the US Sailing’s leadership conference last week in San Diego with 650+ attendees, I came away with a lot of ideas so we can improve junior sailing from the high school sailing point of view. I believe we fit in a box that is simple and structured. We are not trying to change any aspect of youth sailing other than creating a team sport that becomes important for high school students. The message from the conference was to learn as much as you can but come away with 5 key items that can use in your organization

Zander Kirkland was a top high school sailor at Tabor Academy from 1998-2002. Following high school, he sailed at Tufts University (Medford, MA). Following Tufts, Zander was hired as the head coach of Newport Harbor High School’s 2009 National Championship Team. Zander left NHHS in 2010 to pursue his Olympic sailing dream with his brother Jesse (another Tabor sailing team graduate), and together they would represent Bermuda in the 49er Class in the 2012 London Olympics.

Page 1 of 16 pages  1 2 3 >  Last ›